Join the Watchdog Club

Wisconsin needs authoritative, nonpartisan investigative reporting and fearless, well-trained investigative journalists to hold the powerful accountable and improve the quality of life for residents.

We invite you to join the Watchdog Club, a group of individuals, families and corporations committed to supporting the Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism and its mission — to increase the quality, quantity and understanding of investigative journalism to foster an informed citizenry and strengthen democracy.

Watchdog Club members celebrated the successful launch at a February 2018 reception featuring Walt Bogdanich, a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative journalist at The New York Times and a University of Wisconsin-Madison graduate.

Watchdog Club members share the distinction of being WCIJ’s most generous and loyal contributors. Members are WCIJ’s ambassadors. They help WCIJ to excel and innovate, while fostering an informed citizenry and strengthening our democracy.

Donors of at least $1,000 become members of our Watchdog Club and receive “behind the story” insights, events and benefits, such as coffee conversations with the Washington Post’s Jonathan O’Connell and New York Times’ Caitlin Dickerson and an evening with former New York Times Publisher Arthur Sulzberger, Jr.


The Watchdog Club Leadership Circle is a network of people and businesses taking a leadership role in sustaining investigative reporting and the training of investigative journalists.

Donors of at least $5,000 become members of our Leadership Circle and receive all the benefits of the Watchdog Club, plus an office tour and lunch with Executive Director Andy Hall and members of the staff and invitations to exclusive Leadership Circle events.


The Watchdog Club was created in 2017 to enrich members’ experience with investigative journalism, and to involve these loyal members in efforts to transform WCIJ into a larger, more financially resilient organization. WCIJ is built on three guiding principles: Protect the vulnerable. Expose wrongdoing. Explore solutions.

Members receive a full year of benefits, while building a legacy that will inform residents and strengthen our democracy for decades to come.

Questions? Contact Andy Hall, executive director, at

Watchdog Club Membership

Lynn and Tom Ansfield • Adam Balin and Karin Mahony • Herman Baumann and Kay Schwichtenberg • Brynn Bemis and Finn Ryan • Paul Bickford • Bev Blietz • Betsy Brenner and Steve Ostrofsky • William Bula and Elizabeth Neary • Stephen Caldwell • Denis Carey and Carol Koby Carey • Sheila and Marcus Cohen • Corkey and Betty Custer • James Danky and Christine Schelshorn • Brian Davis and Deb Umstead • Andy and Tad Dukehart • Sharon Dunwoody and Stephen Glass • Sara and Mark Eversden • Norm Fost and Renie Schaprio • Lewis Friedland and Stacey Oliker • Chris and Erin Glueck • Richard Goldberg and Lisa Munro • Robert and Elke Hagge • Philip and Janet Hasler • Vince Jenkins and Stefanie Moritz • Margaret Jones and David Linton • Marty and Claudia Kaiser • Julilly Kohler • Martha and Douglas Lee • Scott and Donna Lewein • Karen Lincoln Michel and Roberto Michel • Peter Livingston and Sharon Stark • Richard Luxton • Karen McKim and Keith Nelson • Jack and Bonnie Mitchell • Michaela and Greg Moy • David Nelson • Kristine O’Leary • Carol O’Leary • Catherine Orr • Merry Noel and Richard Pearson • Dick Record • Wendy Swanberg • Tom Terry • Tom and Mim Warren • Bastian Family Foundation • Schott Bublitz & Engel • Wisconsin Broadcasters Association • Wisconsin Newspaper Association •

Leadership Circle Membership

Laura and John Arnold • Mary Burke • Lau and Bea Christensen Charitable Foundation • Susan Troller Cosgrove and Howard Cosgrove • Evjue Foundation • Wendy Fearnside and Bruce Meier • Andy and Dee J. Hall • Larry Hands and Karen Kendrick-Hands • Phil and Tricia Hands • Sally Mead Hands Foundation • Reid Hoffman • Barbara Johnson • Wm. Collins Kohler Foundation • Cynthia LaConte • Reva and David Logan Foundation • Madeleine and David Lubar • David and Marion Meissner • Peters Family Foundation • Mary and Ken Rouse